Starting in August 2020 if your Macs are running macOS 10.14 Mojave or later, you may notice new software update notifications. They'll look something like this:
To proceed with an update, click the Update Machine button to bring up System Preferences, or if now is not a good time, click I Understand or Close to dismiss the notification. You'll be prompted again tomorrow.
When you click the Update Machine button, here's an example of what you'll see if running 10.15:
And what you'll see in 10.14:
In 10.14, remember to use the Another update is available section rather than the "macOS Catalina" "Upgrade Now" button. Always contact Forget Computers prior to running a macOS upgrade. (Incremental updates are typically fine to run on your own. Confusing? See, The Difference Between Software Updates and Upgrades.)
The exact text of the notification may change based on what needs to be updated on your Mac, but the Update Machine button will always take you where you need to go. Please note that there is a field for "Days remaining" and once this reaches zero, you will not be able to close the notification until the update is run. To avoid that, please update as soon as is convenient.
If you have any questions, Forget Computers is available at email@example.com or by phone at (312) 602-5345 x1.